top of page
NOTES FROM COACH / TIPS & THOUGHTS

MINDFUL MAC

Welcome to MAC Fitness!

Let me tell you a little bit about MAC Fitness and how it came to be.



I’ve been fortunate enough to work in gym clothes for my entire adult life - and for the past decade, I’ve had the pleasure of being a personal trainer and health and fitness educator. I love exercise and the profound effect it has, and my life’s mission is to clear up as much misinformation as possible, and demystify the process of getting into better shape!


I used to be an endurance athlete, at one point logging over 1500 running miles per year. I became interested in strength prehab/rehab because it helped me avoid injury, and it complimented the sports I loved to play. I’ve done the ‘bro’ split, with the goal of adding muscle and reducing body fat, likely because of an upcoming event, like a friend’s wedding or summer vacation. Now, I train for strength and stability, with the primary goal of feeling healthier in my 30s than I did in my late teens and early 20s.


‘Why?’ you might ask...




Because I have also been that overweight teen, the one hesitant to draw attention to himself. I was that person who had the motivation, but just didn’t have the know-how, or the confidence to ask a professional. Instead, I tried to get outside my comfort zone when it came to eating different foods and I actively tried to move my body every day - just by walking and playing sports.


This is my earliest experience with mindfulness - focusing one's awareness on the present moment, while calmly acknowledging one's feelings, thoughts, and bodily sensations. I look back on those days, and wish I could let the 14-year old me know how well I did with no experience.


Mindfulness is a foundational key of the MAC Fitness philosophy - a balance of lifestyle education, regimented strength and endurance training and enjoyable, mindful movement. We provide planning strategies for nutrition/food preparation, rest/recovery and overall well-being, and built-in progression for your workouts to ensure a gradual (but constant) effort to be a better version of yourself.


By getting in tune with your movement, your food, your rest and your well-being, you will be much better equipped to “listen to your body”.


Welcome!


-Coach Mike



69 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page